HomeGeneral InformationAbout Zamboanga CityPolitical BoundariesBy NameMampang


Distance from the City Proper 6.00 kms
Political District District II
Historical Background

The place Mampang became a barangay of the city upon the enactment of Commonwealth Act No. 39, s. 1937. It is one of the 98 barangays of the City of Zamboanga.

The only tale in existence that tells how Mampang got its name is that which parents are called by their children, a dearly name fondly addressed to a mother and father especially Zamboangueños.

It was hundred of years ago when the Spaniards landed in Zamboanga. After establishing a permanent settlement in the poblacion, the Spanish conquistadores attempted to look for other areas where to settle. In one of these attempts, a Spanish officer came to a thick forested mangrove after cruising in a banca along the eastern shores of Zamboanga.

It was low tide thus; they had to walk on land. While walking through the bushes, they saw a native girl picking up tops of bushes. The Spanish officer asked the girl the name of the place in Spanish, “Hija, que se llama este lugar?” The girl, frightened upon seeing the strangers in uniform for the first time, shouted “Mang…Pang…” which later on came to be known as the name of the barangay.

The residents of Mampang today are proud of this name of their Barangay. With pride, they consider their barangay as the only barangay in the archipelago created and named out of their love for their parents. That it came into existence because of the union of our Mama and Papa and the dearly name fondly called to our mother and father.

Description It is bounded on the north by the Barigon River, on the east by Arena Blanco, on the south by the Basilan Strait, on the west by Talon-Talon and on the northwest by Tugbungan.
Barangay Fiesta August 16
Total Population (2007 Census) 21,619
Number of Households 3,030
Punong Barangay Leonard P. Aliangan
Barangay Kagawad Valentino D. Luciano
Joel C. Francisco
Pilar B. Dagalea
Tomas B. San Antonio
Faizal L. Dakula
Edgardo B. Ramos
Erico E. Rivera
Secretary Janet C. Peralta
Treasurer Fatima M. Maulad