HomeGeneral InformationAbout Zamboanga CityPolitical BoundariesBy NameTetuan



Distance from the City Proper 1.00-2:00 kms
Political District District II
Historical Background

Tetuan was named by the Spaniards after a Moroccan town. The Spaniards occupied the place up to the last years of the 19th century when in 1898, a year after the Treaty of Paris, the Philippines was ceded to the United States of America and the Americans occupied Zamboanga City. At the time, Zamboanga was divided into two districts: Zamboanga and Tetuan. In 1901, Public Act 135 formally organized these two districts into a municipality called Zamboanga.

The barangay has contributed to the government leaderships in Zamboanga, starting from the first mayor, Victoriano Tarroza. At various times in the past, these Tetuanos served as either municipal president or city mayor. These are Crispin Atilano, Antonio Toribio, Agustin Alvarez, Jose Vicente Atilano II, Manuel Dalipe and Vitaliano Agan.

Tetuan's history will not be complete without recounting how the present Tetuan Parish Church came about. Let it be understood that "church" as used here does not mean only the physical structure but also the community of worshippers.

The Spaniards named St. Ignatius as Tetuan's saint because of the mentioned soldier's famed reputation of bravery. Thus, St. Ignatius Parish at the beginning included the barangays of Talon-Talon, Mampang, Tugbungan, Guiwan, Putik, Lumbangan, Lunzuran, Lumayang and Divisoria. When other parishes were created in the other barangays, St. Ignatius Parish became confined to the Barangay of Tetuan.

Tetuan was first created a parish in 1863 with a Jesuit, Rev. Fr. Ramon Barua, SJ, as its first parish priest.


It is bounded by the Veterans Avenue on the west going north then by the Tumaga River running roughly southeast to its boundary with Barangay Tugbungan, then going south along the Talon-Talon Loop then the Talon-Talon Rd., going west in an irregular boundary with Barangay Kasanyangan and Sta. Catalina back to the starting point at Veterans Avenue.

Tetuan has the biggest population in the city. Concentration of population can be seen in new neighborhoods along Don Alfaro St. to the south.

Apparently, Tetuan is a result of the expansion of the urban core and because of its relatively flat terrain, land development has resulted into a nascent gridiron pattern formed by the major accesses emanating from different roads that bisects another roads. There are so numerous and at times the gaps to connect them are very short distances.

There is much potential in improving circulation in the barangay by interconnecting these minor roads.

Barangay Fiesta July 31, in honor of St. Ignatius de Loyola
Total Population (2007 Census) 29,055
Number of Households 5,705
Punong Barangay John M. Dalipe
Barangay Kagawad Richard F. Mariano
Carlo P. Azcarraga
Marissa E. Aizon
Abelardo L. Dondoyano
Amado L. Natividad, Jr.
Valerio A. Santiago
Sonyboy C. Jalani