HomeGeneral InformationAbout Zamboanga CityPolitical BoundariesBy NameZone I

Zone I

Distance from the City Proper 0.55 km
Political District District I
Historical Background

Barangay Zone I is located within the city proper of Zamboanga City and is historically known as Magay since the 18th century.The boundaries of the old Magay is basically west of the central business district, from Mayor Climaco Ave. corner Ledesma Rd. to the southern side of Bangayan Building. Along this side was the old Sucabon creek and was the natural boundary that separates the district of Magay from Pueblo Nuevo and Pueblo Viejo.

An 18th century map indicates that the whole stretch of Cawa-Cawa beach, from the mouth of Sucabon creek (south of Bangayan Building) up to the present Joaquin F. Enriquez Sports Center, is part of Magay

The old Magay, before Martial Law in the early 70’s, was famous for its various amenities. Cawa-Cawa Boulevard with its gray-colored sand was the favorite place to go for beach lovers and is·noted for its beautiful sunset. Buleigh School, now Zamboanga East and West Central School, which the Americans built, was the center for elementary education. Because the area was big enough, it is often the site for industrial fairs, garden day festivities and carnivals.  From Magay St. up to Varela St was the center of trade and commerce. Most of the merchants were Chinese who exchange goods and services with the local natives. Carmen St., now Varela St. was called Tiangge Moro until the old Public Market was created. Wilson Ice Plant, the only ice factory in Zamboanga was also famous because it also provided warnings and signals through its loud siren.

Famous institutions still exist such as City Jail, Bishop’s Palace, Brent Hospital, Carmelite Monastery, and PC Headquarters, now Camp Batalla.

The boundaries was reduced when the barrio of Sto. Niño was created setting a new boundary, which is the Alejo Alvarez. Then on 31st of December 1972, Mayor Joaquin F. Enriquez, Jr. issued Executive Order No. 86 dividing the city proper into four zones, creating new barrios, namely: Zone I, Zone II, Zone III, and Zone IV.

In the early 80’s, an additional area was added when the Port Area expanded, thus creating a new waterfront.

Barangay Fiesta October 12, in honor of Our Lady of the Pillar
Total Population (2007 Census) 3,428
Number of Households 465
Punong Barangay Hussin O. Sangkula
Barangay Kagawad Jessibel A. Sangkula
Angelita T. Viloria
Alberto R. Belciña, Jr.
Roseminda A. Solis
Miguelina B. Esturco
Bienvenido F. Jalon, Sr.
Rinna G. Regondola
Secretary Neo A. Jusay
Treasurer Remedios R. Ejera