HomeGeneral InformationAbout Zamboanga CityPolitical BoundariesBy NameZone II

Zone II

Distance from the City Proper 0.35 km, a mere 3-minute walk from City Hall
Political District District I
Historical Background

Barangay Zone II was created on July 10, 1973, together with Zones I, III and IV pursuant to Executive Order No. 6, issued by then Mayor Joaquin F. Enriquez, Jr. through the Secretary Jose Ma. Bucoy, under Presidential Decree No. 86, dated December 31, 1972.

On September 02, 1987, the four Zones - through the initiative of Zone II Barangay Council headed by Barangay Chairman Vicente Chan - were confirmed and recognized as full-fledged barangay in accordance with the governing law stated above.


Barangay Zone II is situated right at the "heart" of Zamboanga City.  It is bounded by Barangay Zone IV on the south, Barangay Zone I on the west, Barangay Zone III on the east and Barangay Canelar on the north.

It is divided into four (4) purok: Bougainvilla, Waterlily, Sampaloc and Orchids

Barangay Fiesta October 12, in honor of Our Lady of the Pillar
Total Population (2007 Census) 3,038
Number of Households 400
Punong Barangay Dariman J. Arañas
Barangay Kagawad Nonito M. Arañas
Romeo B. Amabuyoc
Pamela C. Abdulhamid
Helly C. Delmo
Gilbert A. Rio
Luis Henry M. Beebe
Abdulsaid A. Tagayan
Secretary Ma. Ailin O. Solis
Treasurer Jeyzebel C. Beebe