HomeGovernmentThe City Government OfficesOffice of the City AgriculturistBrief History of the Office

Brief History of the Office


     If we trace the roots of the humble beginning of the present City Agriculturist Office, it started with the employment of two agricultural supervisors under the Treasurer’s Office.  That was sometime in the late 1930s.  These two personnel stayed with the said office until the Sundry Development was created under the Office of the City Mayor.  Subsequently, the Office of the City Mayor absorbed these two positions.

     Meanwhile, as early as in the late 1930s, war clouds built up in the Far East due to problems on economy and geo-politics, which also affected the region.  Eventually hostilities followed when the Japanese Imperial Navy attacked Pearl Harbor in December 7, 1941, which marked the start of World War II between Japan and the Allied Forces.

     After the war, two positions of agricultural supervisor were again proposed and unanimously approved by the City Council.  The City Government of Zamboanga, realizing the need of the agricultural sector and its contribution to the economy, decided to create an administrative agency to look into the needs of this sector.  

     The rapid economic development of the agricultural sector in this part of the country in the late 1940s resulted to the creation of the Agricultural Inspector’s Office.  By the year 1968 the office was renamed as the Office of the City Agriculturist under section 194, article 7 of the Local Government Code of 1968.

     For a time, the Office of the City Agriculturist was not considered as a department but as a part of the Agricultural Services of the Office of the City Mayor.  In 1987, the office was finally reorganized as a department and with the passage of Republic Act 7160 known as the Local Government Code of 1991, the following divisions were created under the office, namely, Administrative; Research, Demonstration, and Experiment; Agricultural Technical Support; Environment and Natural Resources; Fisheries and Regulatory; Cooperative and Agribusiness. 

     With the creation of the City Environment and Natural Resources Office (CENRO), the Environment and Natural Resources Division was removed and the Institutional Building and Development Division was created.  Currently, the office has also six (6) agricultural districts, namely Tumaga District, Ayala District, Culianan District, Manicahan District, Curuan District, and Vitali District, each with an Agricultural Field Office.